2019 Elections

Save the Date - Nov 5, 2019

 Elections for the office of Virginia State Senate  will take place in 2019.  The general election will be held on November 5, 2019. Unlike the state House, the state Senate did not hold  elections in 2017 and was last up in 2015

The 2019 Virginia state legislative elections give Democrats a  chance to break the 21-19 Republican majority in the state Senate and the 51-49 Republican majority in the state House. Because Gov. Ralph Northam (D) will serve through 2021, winning the House and the Senate will give Democrats a state government trifecta ahead of the post-2020 redistricting cycle. The Virginia State Legislature draws both the congressional and state legislative district lines.

Visit the Virginia Department of Elections for the latest information on regional voting.

State Elections

State Senate - 24th District

Virginia's 24th Senate district, consisting of Augusta County, Rockingham County, Staunton, Culpeper County, Waynesboro, Greene County, and Madison County, is represented by Republican Emmett Hanger.  

Elections for the office of Virginia State Senate consisted of a primary election on August 23, 2011, and a general election on November 8, 2011.  Republican incumbent Emmett Hanger was unchallenged in the general election.  Hanger was unopposed in the Republican primary election. 

Annette Hyde (Democrat) has declared her candidacy for this position.

House of Delegates - 58th District

Virginia's 58th House of Delegates district elects one of 100 seats in the Virginia House of Delegates, the lower house of the state's bicameral legislature. District 58 represents Greene County as well as parts of Albemarle, Fluvanna, and Rockingham counties. The seat is currently held by Republican Robert B. Bell.

The district's boundaries changed on April 29, 2011 to adjust for  population changes measured by the 2010 U.S. Census of Population, so  that each district would have about 80,000 residents. The changes  reduced the size of the part of the district east of Charlottesville and  just around the city, and expanded it toward the north.

Elizabeth Alcorn (Democrat) has declared her candidacy for this position.

Local Elections


Board of Supervisors

Terms Expiring December 31, 2019 

The Board of Supervisors is the main legislative body for the County  of Greene and is comprised of five members elected by voters, one member  from each magisterial district and one at-large member. Supervisors are  elected for four year terms. At the first meeting of the year, the  Board selects a Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Ruckersville - Michelle Flynn

At Large - Dale Herring

Monroe - David Cox


Constitutional Officers

Terms Expiring December 31, 2019

Commonwealth Attorney - Matthew Hardin

Commissioner of Revenue - Larry Snow

Treasurer - Stephanie Deal

Sheriff - Steven Smith

Soil & Water - Philip Morris and Robert Runkle


School Board

Terms Expiring December 31, 2019

Ruckersville - Sharon Mack

At Large - Harry Daniel

Monroe - Rodney Kibler